Honestly, this would actually shock some people. My sister and Mother kind of find this friendship hard to believe because SOMEBODY (I dunno know who but I want them dead) claims that a male and female (both heterosexual) cannot be just friends, there is always something else involved. I'm sure by now, you all know I think that's bullshit. I mean Brandon and I pretty much break every traditional friendship law.
Truth be told, I don't think my Mom likes Brandon very much. Kind of the same bullshit he gets from a lot of people. To them he comes off as an asshole. When it comes to my family and friends who might think that way, it hurts me because thats a shot at my judgement of character. My mom thinks her judgment is right up top but I'm afraid she's not seeing the whole picture. Instead of seeing that I am happy being friends with Brandon, she insists thats its only temporary and I'll one day wake up, 40 and alone and realized that I have nobody because I wasted it all on guy friends aka Brandon. Because he is what's wrong with the world right?
But like I said, what he and I have isn't exactly something that fits into what people call the normal mold. But I love it. I also enjoy the time I've been spending with Ian lately. Although, even with him my sister was suspicious something was going on *eye roll*.
But back to where I was originally going. Talking to Brandon, I couldn't help but think about what a difference there is between our generation and our parents. I kept wondering to myself, did my Mom ever have similar conversations being with male OR female friends? By the way my mom acts, it sounds like it would have been unheard of! My parents didn't even like the idea of me buying tampons in front of guys, let alone talk about such personal subjects. When I think about it, its really kind of sad. That most people can't be so open with each other seems very uptight. I'm not saying that everyone should go about sharing their personal lives with EVERYONE they meet, not at all. I just think that everyone should have somebody that they can share so much with. Or better yet, a couple of people, with different view points, like Ian and Brandon.
But I have to say I am one of the lucky ones. Not everyone can have guys that will literally act retarded just to make you laugh when you feel like shit. Nope. Thats all mine! lol
Just thought I'd share that. They are really what make my present life quite amazing. If you are so lucky to find that kind of companionship, value what you've found. I'll be holding on to mine as long as I possibly can. They sure as hell ain't gunna lose me!
~IrishEyes

No comments:
Post a Comment