Pro Choice. That's where I stand. I'll just make that clear now.
I could go on and on about frustrations with the pro lives. They don't once think of the woman who is forced to carry this baby that she's probably not ready to have. "But there is always adoption" they say.
Can you imagine, you are a young woman, carrying a tiny thing that eventually becomes a baby inside you for 9 months? Feeling it kick, turn, knowing its now hearing your voice and getting to know you. You're bonding with it. Now think about finally bringing that child into the world. Chances are, by then, you are NOT gunna want to let that baby go and lots of girls end up keeping them, even when they're not ready.
Some young girls parents actually force their daughters to have these children as a punishment for getting pregnant (or just having sex) in the first place! That isn't fair for the girl OR their child. No child deserves to be born under such horrible circumstances which brings me to my next point. Rape.
Does anyone really think that a rape victim should be forced to carry and give birth to the child of her rapist? Its unthinkable! If a woman decides that it is some blessing in disguise then power to her, but that is not often the case.
Another thing that I can't stand is MEN trying to tell a woman what she can and can't do with her body. Of course this is nothing new. We've been dealing with this bullshit since year 1 and it needs to STOP! Call me a feminist, I do NOT hate men, I just hate what some men do! If a man tells ME not get an abortion and care for a baby that I can't have, lets see him try it.
People who are pro life argue that life begins at conception. Well scientifically we know that's just not factual. They next argue that they are thinking of the life of the child because abortion is murder. Now this is where the live gets thin. For me, if you're going to get an abortion, the sooner the better! I am one of many who finds it disgusting when one waits to long to get it. But it still doesn't scream murder. And I don't believe in non abortion being child saving. We are over populated with unwanted children who don't stand much of a chance of getting adopted! They grow up with abandonment issues, often getting into trouble as they get older. How is this saving them exactly? Some babies born don't even make it that far. Some just wind up in the trash...literally. I'm not being cruel, thats just something that happens sometimes.
Another problem I have with people is when they think that women who get abortions are loose and just don't care. They can't be further than the truth. Even the most liberal free spirited woman doesn't want to have make that kind of decision. Its probably the most difficult decision we'll ever make in our lives. Either way, to have the child, or not have it, it changes you. You don't just walk out of the clinic and forget about it. You NEVER forget, whether its going on in your own mind or people don't let you forget it. Even when its the right decision, some women often wonder and question themselves.
Kids and adults need to get real. The kids need to realize the risks they are taking by having sex in the first place, or fantasying about being young parent. Adults need to get real on dealing with young people and what we're teaching them.
If we don't want to worry about having to deal with abortion in the first place, then maybe we need to step up the game about not getting pregnant. NO!! I DON'T mean STRENGTHENING ABSTINENCE! True, while abstinence is the only for sure way never to get pregnant or STDs, we cannot issue that as the only option and we can never expect people to use it. This really all smacks down to people making sex a taboo subject to talk about. That is what we NEED to work on. Not pointing figures (and guns) at abortionist! Instead, why not take care of what's going on in your own personal lives?
In the long run, people just need to better educate themselves and stop letting their personal fear lead their lives and try to lead others.
I hope I got my point across. Nobody likes to think about it. But sooner or later many of us HAVE to. If the day to make that decision never comes to you, thats wonderful. You are either very careful or just fortunate. But if it comes to you or somebody else, be sure you are making the right decision for YOU, and not for anyone else's comfort or religion.
~IrishEyes

No comments:
Post a Comment