How DO we???
Sometimes I wish that girls had it as easy as men when it comes to sex. I mean when it comes to the physical deed, it is easy. I could easily pick up a guy at the bar and sleep with him. But the difference is, I wouldn't feel safe. A guy doesn't really have to worry about picking up a woman and then having her take advantage him. Its more dangerous for women in that way. Its also easier for SOME men to be detached. I don't have too much of a problem with that. I can sleep with a guy and not feel bad about it, if I can convince myself it was something I wanted and needed.
But even so, despite all this and even though "Times have Changed", there is still a HUGE double standard for women. Its still all about rep. A guy can sleep around and people are more likely not to worry about it, but if a girl sleep with the same number of partners, she's a slut. This is not always true, but its been the norm in many places for a long time. Even though my number of partners is very much in the single digits, I guess I worry about what others might think, although its my business and I don't even have to talk about it.
Its not just that. I also care about not making some stupid mistake. While a one night stand maybe nice for the night, what risks am I taking? I am always protected but I worry something bad may still happen. I don't think I could be fully comfortable sleeping with somebody who's history I'm not aware of. I guess my biggest fear would be herpes, because even with a condom, that can be catching.
So reasonable doubt keeps me away. And I suppose in the end, that is the wiser choice. I mean would it be really worth it? All it takes is one night with the wrong man.
I guess it would be more worth it to at least date the guy, get to know him a little and then have a couple of clean nights :) then everybody wins! lol
We'll just see what happens I guess...

No comments:
Post a Comment