Sunday, April 24, 2011

Halloween (2007)

Horror movies.

From what I have experienced, this film genre is one that audiences either love or despise. I have never been particularly fond of them myself, and yet I find myself catching up on all the horror flicks that I have missed in my teenage years. I have only recently seen all 3 scream movies. Before that it was Nightmare on Elm street (1, 2, 3, New Nightmare & Freddy vs. Jason). Then it was the Shinning. All of those movies I found I enjoyed. They were more of the fun little scares.

Tonight however was something different.
It was the 2007 version of Halloween. I never saw the originals but Brandon thought this movie was more interesting because they gave more of a back story to the Killer, Michael. It showed him as sadistic child who hid behind a mask as he would murder small animals. I found the subject very fascinating, having studied some child psychology. But when the 10 year old murdered his school bully, his mom's boyfriend, his older sister and her lover on Halloween night, I knew that the movie was probably going to be more disturbing than I originally thought.

Its interesting because I knew Michael was a killer and this was a famous horror story. But for some reason I didn't realize how frightening this film was going to be. But Brandon also didn't bank on the movie download being the directors cut, in which were many graphic and perhaps unnecessary scenes. It was those scenes that I probably found the most disturbing...

Michael had grown into an adult locked up in an asylum. There was one guard/janitor there that was kind to him and took care of him for the past 15 years. The night watch however were a pair of redneck drunks. One night the drunk pair decided to go looking for trouble. They unlocked a room where a mentally ill young woman was being kept. They started to sexually assault her and decide they have a laugh by dragging her into Michael's room where they violently rape her on his bed all the while destroying his precious masks that he spends his years making. Agitated and outraged Michael kills both the drunks and I believe the woman.

The rape scene was incredibly graphic and Brandon as well as I felt it was very unnecessary. From what I understand that scene was not in the theatrical release and is only found in the director's cut. After that scene the guard who cared for him finds the bodies and kindly tries to get Michael back to his room. Michael kills him too. That seemed to be very out of character for Michael. After all, he usually only kills those who insult him or do him wrong in some way. Thats why he would never hurt his own mother or his baby sister (whom he spared that Halloween night). Killing the one guard who was kind to him just didn't make sense. Supposedly that bit also didn't make it into the theatrical release.

Long story short, Michael escaped the asylum and proceeds to travel to his home town in search of his baby sister, who now has grown into vivacious high school senior.

The rest of the movie went as I suspected any horror movie to be, full of jumps and scares and no matter how they tried to bring the killer down, he would quickly up and disappear before they could blink.

Good movie for the genre, it really makes one think and I found it truly frightening. I think Brandon was worried about me after it was over because I was very quiet. He even apologized because he never had the intension of scaring me. I think he was worried that I may have nightmares. But there isn't much fear in that. I don't usually have nightmares about movies right after I watch them. My nightmares tend to be more random.

but anyway...more later.

~IrishEyes

No comments:

Post a Comment